Scholarship Available for Licking County Senior Citizens


NEWARK, Ohio — Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) and The Ohio State University at Newark are accepting applications for the Licking County Senior Levy Scholarship. To be considered, applicants must be a Licking County resident, sixty years of age or older and plan to enroll in a degree or certificate program at COTC or Ohio State Newark in 2016-17.

The Licking County Senior Levy Scholarship was established in 2012 by the Licking County Commissioners on the recommendation of the Licking County Senior Levy Committee.

"The current commissioners continue to support this scholarship and feel that the program helps those individuals who choose to continue to improve their quality of life by furthering their education and enhancing their opportunities to help others," said Licking County Commissioner Duane Flowers. "We hope seniors continue to apply and again we thank the citizens of Licking County for their continuing support."

Applications are available in the Office of Financial Aid, located in Hopewell Hall on the shared campus of COTC and Ohio State Newark, or online at​ or​. Autumn semester classes begin August 23, 2016.​​

Senior Levy.jpg

Photo: Licking County Commissioner Duane Flowers with 2015-16 Licking County Senior Levy Scholarship recipient Betty Granger.

Central Ohio Technical College and The Ohio State University at Newark have forged an outstanding array of educational opportunities for the central Ohio region and beyond. This partnership is viewed as a model for higher education in the state of Ohio. At COTC, students gain hands-on, applicable experience to begin working in the field or to transfer those credits toward a bachelor's degree program. Ohio State Newark offers the best of the Big Ten educational experience, access to Ohio State's 200 majors, a rich research heritage and academic excellence.​​