Sarah Reese Wallace Honored by Central Ohio Technical College

NEWARK, Ohio, Nov. 30, 2018 – Sarah Reese Wallace, Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) board member emeritus, was recently honored with a 2018 Legends of Loyalty award by the college. The Legends of Loyalty award was established in 2011 to recognize those rare individuals who have made a significant impact on the history of the college through their selfless service and unwavering support. Legends of Loyalty recipients are added to a perpetual plaque that hangs in the Office of the President. A $1,000 scholarship is given to a COTC student in honor of each recipient.

Wallace is chairman of the board at First Federal Savings and Loan in Newark.

LOL 2018 Sarah Wallace_reduced.jpg

"Sarah has dedicated 16 years on our board, serving five years as board chair from 2004 to 2010," said COTC President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D. "She has had a tremendous impact not only on COTC, but on the entire Licking County community."  

Wallace has shared her vision and passion for education by serving as governing board president for A Call to College, the nonprofit college access organization which works with Newark City Schools. Additionally, Wallace demonstrated her commitment to all of Ohio's community and technical colleges when she testified before the Ohio House Finance Committee regarding the potential impact to students on future state share of instruction and Ohio College Opportunity Grant funding.

She and her husband, John Wallace, DDS, have generously supported Newark campus capital initiatives, including the construction of the John Gilbert Reese Center and the Jane C. and William T. McConnell Residence Hall. In addition to her personal support of the Next Generation Challenge Scholarship campaign, which raised nearly $21 million for scholarships at both COTC and The Ohio State University at Newark, she was influential in First Federal Savings' decision to create an endowed scholarship to benefit Newark High School students.

Wallace is also the board chair and a trustee of the Thomas J. Evans Foundation and serves on the boards of the Newark Campus Development Fund and the First Federal Foundation.

Five additional 2018 Legends of Loyalty honorees were recognized by Coe this autumn: COTC Board Chair John F. Hinderer, former COTC Board Chair Cheryl Snyder, COTC/Ohio State Newark Building Maintenance Superintendent Dave Mettler, President and CEO of Ariel Corporation Karen Buchwald Wright and a posthumous award to former Montgomery Foundation Board President Richard Corbett.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.


COTC President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D. and COTC 2018 Legends of Loyalty honoree Sarah Reese Wallace.