Misner Receives COTC Alumni Award for Community Service

NEWARK, Ohio, July 22, 2019 – Brittany Misner not only started the Young Leaders of Licking County, but she also epitomizes the phrase. Before she turned 30 years old, Misner rose to the rank of vice president at the Licking County Chamber of Commerce. A lifelong resident of Hebron, she not only serves Licking County in her career but also through volunteerism. On July 3, she was presented the John C. "Jay" Barker Community Service Award by the Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) Alumni Council. 

"Brittany is a person who is always giving back to others and the community," wrote Nathan Arnold, who co-founded Young Leaders of Licking County with Misner. "She has committed herself to be a steward of fellowship, making positive changes and philanthropic endeavors within Licking County."

Brittany Misner.jpg

Misner graduated from COTC in 2012 with an associate degree in business management technology. She was hired as the membership and affiliate director of the Licking County Chamber of Commerce in 2016 and named the vice president on August 1, 2018. According to Chamber President Jennifer McDonald, since Misner's hiring in 2016, the Chamber saw a 26 percent increase in membership. Misner not only facilitated the development of the affiliate program Young Leaders of Licking County, but she also introduced new programming such as the annual Safety & HR Expo, Chamber 101 and the Women's Leadership Conference.

In addition to her responsibilities at the chamber, she serves on the COTC Alumni Council, Lakewood Local School District board of education, Explore Licking County board of directors, Kiwanis Club of Newark, Young Leaders of Licking County treasurer, Licking County Courthouse Lighting board of directors, and Licking County Human Resources Management Association treasurer. She was named one of the Newark Advocate's 2016 Top 20 under 40 in Licking County.

"To receive recognition for something I truly love to do is an honor," said Misner. "I have been very blessed to have a lot of opportunities thrown my way, and every time they come my way I have worked hard, dug my heels in and made the best of them."

The COTC John C. "Jay" Barker Community Service Alumni Award was created in 2013 by the COTC Alumni Council to recognize COTC alumni who have made a significant impact through their service to improve our community. The inaugural award was presented posthumously in July 2014 to John C. "Jay" Barker and named in his honor. Barker was active in the Licking County Courthouse Lighting Committee, Licking County Senior Levy Committee, COTC Alumni Council, Energy Cooperative Operation Roundup Foundation Board, Licking County Governmental Preservation Society, National Heisey Glass Museum Board, Rotary Club of Newark-Heath and Ohio Bankers League.

Pictured L-R: Nathan Arnold, COTC Alumni Council President Kevin Carver, Beth Barker, Brittany Misner, COTC Director of Advancement Kim Manno and Spencer Barker. 

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.