Karen Buchwald Wright Honored by Central Ohio Technical College

NEWARK, Ohio, Oct. 23, 2018 – Mount Vernon resident Karen Buchwald Wright was honored with a 2018 Legends of Loyalty award by Central Ohio Technical College (COTC). The award was presented to Wright by COTC President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D., in a ceremony held at the COTC Knox campus on Tuesday, Oct. 2, 2018. The Legends of Loyalty award was established in 2011 to recognize those rare individuals who have made a significant impact on the history of the college through their selfless service and unwavering support.

Wright LOL 2018__reduced.jpg

Wright, president and CEO of Ariel Corporation, headquartered in Mount Vernon, was instrumental in assisting COTC with the purchase of the vacant two-theater cinema on South Main Street. After a successful capital campaign and a major renovation of the building, COTC's Knox campus — Ariel Hall — opened in 2012. Additionally, Wright has been a devout philanthropic supporter of the college. The KBW Scholarship was created in 2012 as part of the Next Generation Challenge Scholarship Campaign through a joint $2 million commitment from Ariel Corporation and Ariel Foundation. This year, more than $70,000 was awarded from this scholarship to Knox County residents pursuing a degree at COTC or The Ohio State University at Newark. This investment will continue to impact Knox County students in perpetuity.   

Ariel Foundation also offered a generous $30,000 match to endow COTC's Officer Thomas W. Cottrell, Jr. Award for Character and Dedication to Public Service. The award was established two years ago in honor of Cottrell, a 2002 graduate of COTC's Basic Police Academy who was tragically killed in the line of duty while serving as an officer with the Danville Police Department. Through this generous match, Wright and her family are helping COTC create a permanent legacy for Officer Cottrell that will benefit Peace Officer Basic Training graduates in perpetuity. Online gifts to this award are accepted at cotc.edu/give.

"Over the years, we have honored quite a prestigious list of individuals, and tonight we will add to that list by recognizing someone who has had a tremendous impact on COTC and the entire Knox County community," said Coe during the award ceremony.

"In addition to her incredible support of higher education brick and mortar projects in downtown Mount Vernon, Karen's substantial investment in student scholarships is simply extraordinary," said Coe. "There's no doubt her incredible generosity and support have made a significant impact on the history of COTC."

Legends of Loyalty recipients are added to a perpetual plaque that hangs in the Office of the President. A $1,000 scholarship is given to a COTC student in honor of each recipient.

Three additional 2018 Legends of Loyalty honorees, COTC Board Chair John F. Hinderer, former Board Chair Cheryl Snyder and COTC/Ohio State Newark Building Maintenance Superintendent Dave Mettler were recognized on Sept. 14 during an event held at the COTC Newark campus. A fourth honoree, COTC Board Member Emeritus Sarah Reese Wallace, was honored at the COTC Oct. 16 board meeting.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.

Caption: COTC President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D. and COTC 2018 Legends of Loyalty honoree Karen Buchwald Wright.