COTC Recognizes Nursing Technology Graduates

NEWARK, OHIO, Dec. 22, 2016 — Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) held pinning ceremonies to honor graduates receiving an Associate of Applied Science in Nursing Technology or Practical Nursing Certificate. The following graduates received pins at ceremonies held on Dec. 11, 2016, at COTC's Coshocton campus and Dec. 15, 2016, at COTC's Newark campus.* Graduates are grouped by hometown.

Nursing Technology

Berlin: Janel King

Blacklick: Brittany Orndorff

Canal Winchester: Jennifer Santavicca

Centerburg: Bethany Beeler** and Bridget Burch

Columbus: Emelia Andoh, Tekleab Arega**, Nicholas Ball, Borry Bass, Matthew Clark, Megan Foster, Ashonté Gaiter, Jodelle Jean-Charles, Sanna Jobarteh, Ashley Lindsey, Ameera Mohammed, Jody Schueneman, Stacy Vandersluijs, Leah Wathigo and Lakeia Welch

Coshocton: Heather Gindler, Ashley Sweat** and Carrie VanAtta

Danville: Jennifer Tucker

Frazeysburg: Jesie Roser

Gahanna: Danielle McCoy**

Galloway: Dennis Meleshchuk

Glenford: Kodi McClaskey

Granville: Jenavieve Kirwin

Grove City: Kelsea Davis

Heath: Jessica Hunt and Moises Pagan

Hilliard: Nadege Kouam

Lancaster: Misty Heston**, John Sharp and Elaine Tipton**

Lucas: Chelsea Shaw

Martinsburg: Christopher Parrish

Millersport: Pamela Purvis

Mount Vernon: Aleta Bouchard**, Abree Green and Monica Jacobs**

Newark: Jessica Boyce**, Alyson Hogan, Seth Montgomery, Angela Parker, Crista Smith, Paula Smith** and Kaela Williams

Pataskala: Anessa Fry and Ashley Holland

Reynoldsburg: Courtney Parrill**

Thornville: Angela Taylor

Utica: Michelle Robinson** and Austin Severt

West Lafayette: Amy Luyando

Westerville: Sarah Hanly** 

Practical Nursing

Baltimore: Shelby Mathias

Canal Winchester: Kalie Gulick

Columbus: Bertille Angue Mvomo and Phelomina Niamah

Coshocton: Misty Meyers

Frazeysbur:g Amanda Napier

Kimbolton: Ashley Tolliver

Mount Vernon: Patty Poe

Nashport: Whitney DeVault

Newark: Cassandra Minkos and Brooke O'Quinn

Pataskala: Brittany Jones, Melinda Studer and Brittany Vankirk

Stone Creek: Michelle Beavers

Sugar Grove: Brent Frederick

Sunbury: Sarah Kelly

Warsaw: Kaci Walton

West Jefferson: Carly Cunningham

West Lafayette: Michelle Bussard

Westerville: Aaron Sage

The pinning ceremony is a long-held tradition marking the passage of student to the ranks of professional nursing. The ceremony originated in the 1860s at London's Nightingale School of Nursing. Florence Nightingale, who had recently been awarded the Red Cross of St. George for her selfless service to the injured and dying in the Crimean War, chose to extend this honor to outstanding nursing graduates by presenting each of them with a medal for excellence.

*Only graduates who have granted COTC permission to release their names to the public are listed.

**Graduates are members of the Alpha Delta Nu nursing honor society which recognizes the academic excellence of students in the study of associate degree nursing.

Central Ohio Technical College opened in 1971 and is celebrating its 45th anniversary in 2016. COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs, as well as encouraging the professional development of students, staff, faculty and administrators to assist them in achieving their maximum potential.  COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.