COTC Recognizes Healthcare Technology Graduates

NEWARK, Ohio, May 15, 2019 Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) held pinning ceremonies to honor the following 2019 spring semester graduates of its healthcare technology programs.*

Barnhart May 2019.jpg
The Elizabeth Barnhart Award for Nursing Excellence was presented to Madyson Bonham of Mount Vernon. The Barnhart Award honors a graduating student who exemplifies the highest ideals of the nursing profession: intelligence, commitment, sacrifice, integrity and a compassionate connection to others. Recipients receive a certificate and a $300 cash stipend to help defray the cost of equipment and career-related fees, including testing and licensure. The inaugural award was presented in May 2018.

Barnhart, a young registered nurse who loved her profession and was passionate about helping others, was only just beginning a promising career as an emergency room nurse at Newark's Licking Memorial Hospital when she was killed on Feb. 2, 2017. A 2015 COTC graduate, Barnhart was an outstanding student and well-known to use the phrase "nurse so hard," which she used to describe the deep level of compassion and commitment needed by nurses to provide exceptional patient care.

Photo caption: Madyson Bonham with the Elizabeth Barnhart Award for Nursing Excellence

Associate of Applied Science in Diagnostic Medical Sonography Technology

Kristin Carlin

Erica Chase

Kaelin Clement

Zahra Dhalla

Megan Dixon

Alison Emmert

Rachel Evangelisti

Emma Gavlik

Clarissa Gergley

Tayler Graves

Brooke Hannen

Sally Heberle

Hannah Hinger

Laura Jenkins

Katie Keller

Emily Miller

Stormy Orsky

Gretchen Proemm

Karla Sunderlin

Rachel Walker

Associate of Applied Science in Nursing Technology

Nimo Ahmed

Ashlyn Barber

Natalie Bidwell

Madyson Bonham

Sara Boston

Shelly Brewer

Sydney Brock

Alesha Brown

Sarah Butts

Stefanie Caskey

Courtney Castle

Jackson Casto

Teri Cooperrider

Mary Corner

Carly Cunningham

Stephanie Davis

Lindsey Denes

Zachary Derugen

Jordan Durham

Whitney Ewing

Destiny Ford

Shelby Fry

Tina Gibson

Shanna Grennell

Alexus Grimmett

Autumn Hall

Jensen Hocter

Shukri Isse

Aprille Jordan

Alexandra Keller

Sydney King

Katherine LaRe

Sidney Lester

Natashia Marcum

Margarita Martinez

Mandy Maschino

Gavin McKenzie

Karly Mitchell

Alexandra Murch

Kimberly Nelson

Katelyn Parrett

Sarah Patterson

Laura Peugh

Devin Reardon

Megan Ridzon

Kelsey Ries

Ashton Riffle

Heather Rine

William Robinson

Ashley Rogers

Halima Said

Mackenzie Saul

Sally Saunders

Michaiah Senior

Carrie Smith

Kevin Smith

Abigail Solomon

Anthony Spaulding

Frances Williamson

Carlee Znamenacek

Associate of Applied Science in Radiologic Science Technology

Patricia Anderson

Katie Bice

Katlyn Bice

Jonathan Broom

Aleecia Carson

Jamie Copeland

Nicole Egan

Cassidy Garcia

Olivia Gerschutz

Lindsey Harezga

Morgan Leddy

Ashley Mahaffey

Chelsea Neighbarger

Stephani Neighbor

Samantha Rinehart

Ashley Stephens

Brianna Tittle

Samantha Tutorow

Thomas Weber

*Only graduates who have granted COTC permission to release their names to the public are listed.

The pinning ceremony is a long-held tradition marking the passage of student to the ranks of professional nursing. The ceremony originated in the 1860s at London's Nightingale School of Nursing. Florence Nightingale, who had recently been awarded the Red Cross of St. George for her selfless service to the injured and dying in the Crimean War, chose to extend this honor to outstanding nursing graduates by presenting each of them with a medal for excellence.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.