COTC Recognizes Health Sciences Summer Semester Graduates

NEWARK, Ohio, Sept. 19, 2018 —​Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) held pinning ceremonies on July 28 at the Knox campus and Aug. 2 at the Newark campus to honor the following summer semester 2018 graduates of its health sciences programs.* Graduates are grouped by hometown. 

The Elizabeth Barnhart Award for Nursing Excellence was presented to Eric Bell of Newark. The Barnhart Award honors a graduating student who exemplifies the highest ideals of the nursing profession: intelligence, commitment, sacrifice, integrity and a compassionate connection to others. Recipients will receive a certificate and a $300 cash stipend to help defray the cost of equipment and career-related fees, including testing and licensure. The inaugural award was presented in May 2018.

Barnhart, a young registered nurse who loved her profession and was passionate about helping others, was only just beginning a promising career as an emergency room nurse at Newark's Licking Memorial Hospital when she was killed on Feb. 2, 2017. A 2015 COTC graduate, Barnhart was an outstanding student and well-known to use the phrase "nurse so hard," which she used to describe the deep level of compassion and commitment needed by nurses to provide exceptional patient care.

Associate of Applied Science in Nursing Technology
Adamsville: Haleigh Cronin
Baltimore: Autumn Marcum
Blacklick: Ashley-Noel Swarn
Columbus: Annie Adjei, Kelsey Appelhans, Marissa Bowman, Deborah Dolak, Mensan Epey, Titus Metto, Noah Pierce, Johnine Schumick, Ladawn Williams and Corine Yohmba
Coshocton: Kyla Markley, Savanna Treasure and Sara Uphoff
Dublin: Alexa Pothoven
Frazeysburg: Misty Harris
Galloway: Roksolana Moskvych
Glenmont: Brittany Williams
Hebron: Cynthia Beckstrom
Hilliard: Sarah Morgan
Howard: Kana Fowler and Molly Kane
Johnstown: Alisha Clark
Loudonville: Tori Mowery
Mount Perry: Taryn Walker
Mount Vernon: Danielle Dawson, Stephanie Hunter, Madison Keaton, Peter Miller and Jamie Waite
Nashport: Whitney Byers and Jesse Thornton
Newark: Benjamin Barnhart, Eric Bell, Samantha Hamann, David Landis, James Long, Brianne Randolph, Spencer Ruess and Alaina Wright
Pataskala: Annette Iannarino-Chaney and Stephanie Rapp
Pickerington: Anthony Ross and Kimberly Thompson
Reynoldsburg: Bethany Fitch, Amanda Smith and Anthony Tucker
Roseville: Rachel Lantz
Somerset: Rebecca Jenkins
Thornville: Ashley Loudermilk, Kaylee Peck and Thomas Pellett
Westerville: Madison Zelnik
Worthington: William Lewis
Zanesville: Stephanie Bartolo and Alisha Epler

Practical Nursing One-Year Certificate
Carroll: Brittany Sweeney
Chandlersville: Shyann Wines
Columbus: Akosua Adoma, Brittany Bass, Renaud Bungwa Dobgima and Gloria Prosper
Gahanna: Mavis Nyamekye
Lancaster: Joel Cathers and Allyson Hahn
Martinsburg Chelsea Willet
Mount Vernon: Patricia Fox, Kelli Hall and Michaela Parker
Newark: Zainab Bah and Kelli Finney
Reynoldsburg: Keondra Byrd and Patricia Lowery
Westerville: Rocquel Terrell

Surgical Technology One-Year Certificate
Cardington: Kelsey Barker
Carroll: Reagan Baughman
Columbus: Alisha Doan
Frazeysburg: Katie Black
Groveport: Brion Dixon
Johnstown: Jeana Piper and Vanessa Rushmore
Lancaster: Emmy Kraner and Ashley Selby
Mount Vernon: Hannah Prokopchak
Newark: Emma Bowman, Kaylyn Kindred, Cassandra Powell and Matison Waters
Pataskala: Michelle Morris and Kristen Spurbeck
St. Louisville: Jeremy Yantes
Thornville: Heather Ingram
Westerville: Alexandra Chisholm

*Only graduates who have granted COTC permission to release their names to the public are listed.

The pinning ceremony is a long-held tradition marking the passage of student to the ranks of professional nursing. The ceremony originated in the 1860s at London's Nightingale School of Nursing. Florence Nightingale, who had recently been awarded the Red Cross of St. George for her selfless service to the injured and dying in the Crimean War, chose to extend this honor to outstanding nursing graduates by presenting each of them with a medal for excellence.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.