COTC Recognizes Health Sciences Graduates

NEWARK, Ohio, May 8, 2018 — Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) held pinning ceremonies this month to honor the following graduates of its health sciences associate degree programs.* Graduates are grouped by hometown. 

Diagnostic Medical Sonography
Canal Winchester: Alexis Daniels
Coldwater: Jenna Halterman
Columbus: Anne Eshelman and Mary Tappan
Fredericktown: Elizabeth Thompson
Galloway: Erin Van Pelt
Johnstown: Ashley Wingard
Lancaster: Brittany Johnson and Mary VerDow
Laurelville: Shayna Thomas
London: Emily Boggs
New Albany: Stephanie Absalom and Kelly Matatof
Newark: Danika Prince
Philo: Olivia Braglin
Westerville: Reyna Gelin, Coleman Rader, Jennifer Russell and Viktoria Tara

Nursing Technology
Amanda: Jennifer Miller
Bellefontaine: Christina Townsend
Blacklick: Ama Amaning and Lutrena Draper
Cardington: Sharon Cusick
Centerburg: Staci Potts
Columbus: Abdul-Khaliq Ahmed, Maria D'Amico, Jilleen Dennis, Haoulatou Diane, Alexander Dowell, Rhiannon Greter, Amanda Liff, Raynaud McCall, Halima Moallim, Vivienne Nkengafac, Margaret Reffitt, Sumaya Saleh, Katelyn Schneider, Sulayman Sumbundu, Molly Swartz and Ryhan Wickerham
Coshocton: Tina Barnett and Brandy Mizer
Delaware: Samantha Eaton
Fredericktown: Dia Buckland
Gahanna: Kyle Simms
Gambier: Andrew Neighbarger
Granville: Mary Greene
Heath: Ariana Fulton
Johnstown: Kellie Wilson
Kimbolton: Marsha Luttrell
Lancaster: Hannah Wilt
Marengo: April Green
Mount Gilead: Jennifer Zornes
Mount Vernon: Lauren Snyder
Newark: Abbey Barkeloo Bretz, Carlena Hoffman, Kirsten Keim, Brittni Klosterman, Angela Smith, Brian Smith and Amber Spung
Pataskala: Christina Jones and Wendy Olinski
Pickerington: Jillian Blythe
Powell: Brad Meyers
Saint Louisville: Mandi Schwaderer amd Kyleigh Snyder
Somerset: Antoinette Broceus
Utica: Azlin Dunn
Walhonding: Joan Dugan
Westerville: Jordan Baldwin
Zanesville: Alyssa Casapini

Radiologic Science Technology
Columbus: Elshaday Rafat and Kahley Weekley
Heath: Brittany Smith
Howard: Sarah Bunker
Lancaster: Hannah Muckensturm and Megan Weiland
Mount Vernon: Jessica Baer and Emily McDonald
Newark: Ajay Barber, Darlene Holsinger and Alison Wyrick
Pataskala: Benjamin Nicholson and Sarah Stocker
Westerville: Heather Smith
Woodstock: Nichole Shick
Worthington: Richard Merrill

*Only graduates who have granted COTC permission to release their names to the public are listed.

The pinning ceremony is a long-held tradition marking the passage of student to the ranks of professional nursing. The ceremony originated in the 1860s at London's Nightingale School of Nursing. Florence Nightingale, who had recently been awarded the Red Cross of St. George for her selfless service to the injured and dying in the Crimean War, chose to extend this honor to outstanding nursing graduates by presenting each of them with a medal for excellence.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.