COTC Recognizes Basic Police Academy Graduates at Newark Campus

May 18, 2017 – Newark, OH—Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) held a recognition ceremony on Monday, May 9, 2017 at the Pataskala campus to honor the following graduates of the Basic Police Academy (BPA).*

 The Officer Thomas W. Cottrell Jr. Award for Character and Dedication to Public Service was also given out at the ceremony.

Graduation Class  BAS #17-008, Commander Jeff Sowards

Bethanie Bidinger, Orient

Cordell Cardi, Thornville

James Coffey, Jr., Centerburg

Catherine Draves, Columbus

Allen Fosnaugh, Granville

Joshua Hoar, Pataskala

Nicholas Pickering, Grove City

Timothy Smith, Thornville

Kyle Zalipski, Reynoldsburg

*Only graduates who have granted COTC permission to release their names to the public are listed.

The Cottrell Award is given out at each BPA graduation ceremony during the academic year. The selection of the recipients is based on many factors including, but not limited to, academic success and overall leadership and character. The award will be a minimum of $1,000 and is to be used to help the graduating cadet with equipment purchases and other expenses associated with beginning a career in law enforcement. This class' award recipient was Timothy Smith, pictured below with the Cottrell family.

The Basic Police Academy prepares students to meet the requirements of the Ohio Peace Officer Training Council. Successful graduates are recommended to take the state certification examination to become a police officer in Ohio. Graduates also earn 22.5 credits toward an Associate of Applied Science in Law Enforcement Technology.

COTC was ranked number one in Ohio and number 19 in the nation by PayScale in its 2016-17 College Salary Report ranking the best community and career colleges by salary potential. COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.