COTC President Honored by Licking County Chamber of Commerce

NEWARK, Ohio, August 14, 2018– Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D., received the Licking County Chamber of Commerce 2018 Employee of the Year award at the chamber's annual awards dinner on Tuesday, Aug. 7. This year's award was sponsored by Ohio Means Jobs Licking County.


"Central Ohio Technical College President Bonnie L. Coe, announced in January 2018 that she will retire from the presidency effective Jan, 1, 2019, and the college nominated President Coe as Employee of the Year for her tireless dedication to COTC and her outstanding contributions to higher education in Licking County—and our nominating committee concurred." said Licking County Chamber President Jennifer McDonald during the award presentation.

After assuming the presidency at COTC, Coe reaffirmed the college's longstanding mission of providing high-quality programs of technical education leading to in-demand jobs. While keeping COTC's commitment to accessibility at the forefront, Coe positioned the college for growth by implementing critical advances in the college's infrastructure, resources, programming and leadership, resulting in increased institutional efficiency, productivity and quality academic programming. Through Coe's leadership, fiscal management was also a top priority and by June 30, 2011, the college had eliminated or covered all debt and remains debt free.

Coe has received numerous honors and awards throughout her tenure at COTC, including: 2017 Woman of the Year Leadership Award, Zonta Club of Newark; 2015 Excellence in Higher Education Leadership Award, ACE Ohio Women's Network; 2011 Regional U.S. Chief Executive Officer Award, Association of Community College Trustees Conference, Central Region; and the 2010 Bravo Award, Newark Rotary, among others.

"I am very grateful to the Licking County Chamber for this honor," said Coe. "Licking County is incredibly fortunate to enjoy such a highly talented and effective chamber working on our behalf, and I am personally grateful for this entire community's long history of continued support of higher education for all."

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.

Caption:  Left to right: Licking County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors Chair-Elect Mike Birkmeyer, Madison-Collins-Stephens Agency; COTC President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D., Chamber 2018 Employee of the Year award winner; Chamber Board of Directors Chair Ryan West, First Federal Savings