COTC Offers Accelerated 8-week Courses Beginning October 19 Associate Degree or Transfer Friendly

NEWARK, Ohio, September 14, 2020 — Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) is adapting to meet the current needs of students by offering a selection of accelerated-format (eight weeks versus 15 weeks) general education courses during the second term of autumn semester. All courses will be taught remotely, offering peace of mind during the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Also, the courses offered can count toward an associate degree at COTC or transfer to any public college or university in the state of Ohio, offering students another flexible option to pursue a degree during the pandemic. For students who want to fast-track their career by earning a technical degree at COTC but were unable to begin in August, second-term classes are a great opportunity to get started now on a degree path. At COTC, students can also stay at home this autumn and take many of the freshman and sophomore courses found at four-year universities – for a fraction of the cost.

Second-term courses begin on October 19. The application for admission is due October 12, and students must be registered by October 19. These courses are financial aid eligible for students enrolled in a degree pathway at COTC. To be considered for financial aid, students must submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) at Coshocton County residents may be eligible for free tuition through COTC's Coshocton Promise. Learn more at

Learn more about how COTC can jumpstart your career or help you on the way to your bachelor's degree at To speak with an admissions counselor, email to or call any of COTC's four campus locations:

Newark: 740.366.9222
Coshocton: 740.622.1408
Knox: 740.392.2526
Pataskala: 740.755.7090

Second term courses:

PHIL-100 Critical Thinking
ENGL-112 Composition I
SOC-110 Cultural Diversity
MATH-130 Statistics
PSY-100 Intro to Psychology

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.