COTC Diagnostic Medical Sonography Program Receives Continuing Accreditation

​Newark, Ohio - ​The diagnostic medical sonography (DMS) technology program at Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) recently received continuing accreditation for 10 years from the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).

In a letter to COTC President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D., CAAHEP President Thomas Skalko, Ph.D., wrote: “The recent peer review conducted by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Diagnostic Medical Sonography (JRC-DMS) and CAAHEP’s Board of Directors recognizes the program’s substantial compliance with nationally established accreditation standards. The next comprehensive evaluation of the program, including an on-site review, is scheduled to occur no later than 2026.”

“This is wonderful news for our DMS technology program,” said COTC DMS Program Director Melinda Shoen. “We work very hard to give our students the best DMS technology education possible, and we are very proud to have achieved this 10-year accreditation.”

The JRC-DMS will regularly monitor the program’s compliance with the outcomes assessment thresholds through the program’s annual report, as well as other documentation that may be requested.

Sonography careers continue to grow with the development of new technologies. Growth is projected to continue into the future. Qualified sonographers are needed locally and nationwide to provide quality patient care, use high-tech instrumentation to create and interpret diagnostic imagery used by physicians, and work as a critical member of a healthcare team.

Central Ohio Technical College opened in 1971 and is celebrating its 45th anniversary in 2016. COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs, as well as encouraging the professional development of students, staff, faculty and administrators to assist them in achieving their maximum potential. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.