2018 COTC Legends of Loyalty Awards Presented

NEWARK, Ohio, Oct. 1, 2018 – Two longtime Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) board members and one staff member were recently presented with the college's highest honor. The 2018 Legends of Loyalty awards were presented by President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D., in a ceremony held at the COTC Newark campus on Friday, Sept. 14, 2018. The Office of the President established the Legends of Loyalty award in 2011 to identify and recognize dedication and commitment to the college. It spotlights individuals who have, over the years, made a significant impact on the history of the college, have gone above and beyond their required duties and proven unselfish allegiance. Honored were COTC Board Chair John F. Hinderer, former Board Chair Cheryl Snyder and Building Maintenance Superintendent Dave Mettler.

Hinderer has been a member of the COTC Board of Trustees for 13 years, serving the last four as chair. During his tenure he served for four years as the COTC board liaison for The Ohio State University at Newark advisory board. Most recently he served on the COTC Presidential Search Committee.

"Mr. Hinderer has always given back to the community," said Coe. "It is because of his tireless efforts that John and his wife, Mary (who is a COTC alumna), have created an endowed scholarship during the Next Generation Challenge scholarship campaign to benefit Licking County residents attending either COTC or Ohio State Newark. The John F. and Mary J. Hinderer Scholarship was awarded for the third time this academic year, and as an endowed scholarship, it will benefit our students in perpetuity."

 LOL Hinderer 2018.jpg

2018 Legends of Loyalty honoree John F. Hinderer with COTC President Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D.

Mettler, widely recognized as one of the most respected and dedicated employees on campus, has faithfully served in a cost-shared position at COTC and Ohio State Newark for more than 28 years. He has held the position of building maintenance superintendent for the last four years.

LOL Mettler 2018.png 

Honoree Dave Mettler with President Coe.

"As a facilities employee who is representative of the high standards to which we hold our organization, Dave Mettler is one of our standouts," said Coe. "Dave demonstrates dedication and professionalism to influence and motivate those with whom he interacts."

LOL Snyder 2018.jpg

Honoree Cheryl L. Snyder with President Coe.

Snyder, the third recipient, has served on the COTC Board of Trustees for 14 years, five as board chair. Under Snyder's leadership, COTC launched the Workforce Development Innovation Center in 2011.

"Cheryl assumed the role of board chair as the college was experiencing spiking enrollment numbers due to the economic downturn in 2008," said Coe. "Cheryl made it her platform to focus on student success and degree completion. Cheryl and her husband, Charlie, are founding members of our 1971 Legacy Society, further evidence of the dedication and commitment to Central Ohio Technical College."

Recipients of the Legends of Loyalty award have their name added to a perpetual plaque that hangs in the Office of the President. A $1,000 scholarship is also donated to a COTC student in honor of each recipient, and a beautifully engraved commemorative clock is presented to each recipient.

"The college is fortunate to have such talented and unselfish employees, board members and donors who have given decades of their lives to Central Ohio Technical College so that students for years to come can advance themselves and improve their lives and the lives of their families through opportunities that these degrees and certificates can offer," said Coe.

Three additional 2018 Legends of Loyalty honorees were not able to be present at the Sept. 13 event and will be recognized later this fall.

COTC is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs. COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.