2015-16 Student Leadership Award Winners Announced


NEWARK, Ohio, April 25 2016-There's more to going to college than just taking classes. College is also a place where students learn about the value of leadership and the importance of volunteer work. On April 20, The Office of Student Life at The Ohio State University at Newark and Central Ohio Technical College (COTC) recognized four individuals and two student organizations for their leadership and service work during the Student Leadership Awards Recognition Ceremony. The honorees were selected by a committee based on a number criteria.

"Though we recognized six winners during the evening, all of the nominees are dynamic leaders on campus who have taken advantage of the opportunities in front of them in making the most of their experience at Ohio State Newark and COTC," said Committee Chair and Student Program Manager Justin Khol. "The leadership skills they have learned and demonstrated through their involvement in student organizations will surely serve them long after they leave our campus."            

The individual honorees of the evening were:

Krysten Chadwick, psychology major at Ohio State Newark, received the Community Service Leader of the Year Award. Chadwick is part of the prestigious LeFevre Fellows program for a third consecutive year, as well as a volunteer at a number of community organizations that include the Salvation Army and the Licking County Humane Society.

Erin Hedrick, secondary education major at Ohio State Newark, was awarded the William A. Kilpatrick Leadership Award. Hedrick has aided in two courses as a chemistry lab assistant and did great work with the Undergraduate Student Government's Adopt a Family program for Christmas. Hedrick also performs in, Call to College, a play that encourages fourth graders to think about continuing their education after high school.

Lisa Diaz Laredo, accounting major at COTC, earned the Kelly Saffle Leadership Award. Since joining Phi Theta Kappa, a national honorary with a chapter at COTC, Laredo has reinvigorated the student chapter on campus. She is also one of two students nominated by COTC for the All-Ohio Scholarship because of her dedication in the classroom and involvement in her student organization.

Max Gulick, COTC academic advisor, received the Above and Beyond Faculty/Staff Award. Gulick was recognized for his commitment in aiding and advising COTC students. Gulick has also demonstrated service outside the office. He serves as an advisor to a student organization on campus.




In addition, these two student organizations were recognized:

Introspect Psychology Club, an Ohio State Newark student group, received the Outstanding Student Organization of the Year Award. Members of this group have organized bake sales to raise funds in support of the Big Brothers and Big Sisters foundation. They have also coordinated a gently-used clothes drive to help homeless residents in Licking County.

Psi Chi, the international honors society in psychology, received the Outstanding Organization Program Award. This Ohio State Newark student organization is responsible for initiating a new research-based luncheon series on campus. The series has provided thesis students and undergraduate researchers the chance to present in front of students and faculty members, and many of those thesis students have gone on to present at this year's Midwestern Psychological Association Conference.

Central Ohio Technical College and The Ohio State University at Newark have forged an outstanding array of educational opportunities for the central Ohio region and beyond. This partnership is viewed as a model for higher education in the state of Ohio. At Central Ohio Technical College, students gain hands-on, applicable experience to begin working in the field, or to transfer those credits toward a bachelor's degree program. The Ohio State University at Newark offers an academic environment that's challenging but supportive with world-renowned professors and access to Ohio State's more than 200 majors.