“Culinary Kids” Spend Day at COTC

NEWARK, Ohio, October 30, 2015 – It was a special day of culinary creations at Central Ohio Technical College for 14 gifted students from throughout the Central Ohio area.  The 7th and 8th graders, hosted by the Licking County Educational Service Center, were part of the "Culinary Kids" program.  Each expressed an interest in hands-on culinary courses to develop skills and knowledge for future success in the Restaurant/Hospitality industry and/or Food Science/Food Research and Development industry. 

"Today you're here to learn about Culinary Science​," said COTC President, Bonnie L. Coe, Ph.D, as she welcomed the students. "A lot of schools offer Culinary Arts, but in the state of Ohio, COTC is the only program that offers Culinary Science​​.  You will learn about the science behind the food."

The students got to spend the entire day learning and experiencing a variety of cooking techniques from COTC's Culinary Science​ ​Technology Program Director Matt Russo.

"Today is about having fun and working with different ingredients," said Russo. "When you are in the kitchen, the first step is to read through the recipe.  Once you have done that, you get everything assembled and in place so when you go to work on it, you have everything ready."

The students participated in making a menu of Autumn Salad, Apple Bacon Stuffed Pork Chops, Sweet Roasted Acorn Squash, Roasted Butternut Squash, Braised Brussels Sprouts and Pumpkin Crème Caramel.

 The day-long program was coordinated through the Workforce Development Innovation Center at Central Ohio Technical College.

Central Ohio Technical College is a fully accredited, public college dedicated to providing high-quality, accessible programs of technical education in response to current and emerging employment needs, as well as encouraging the professional development of students, staff, faculty and administrators to assist them in achieving their maximum potential.  COTC is the only technical college in Ohio operating four full-service campus locations: Newark, Coshocton, Knox and Pataskala.